“Entspannung pur in einem traumhaften Ambiente”

Reviewed: Oct 30, 2016, Source: holidaylettings 

Das Haus ist mit viel Liebe restauriert und geschmackvoll eingerichtet. Die Lage ist angenehm ruhig. Trotz Busanbindung empfehle ich unbedingt einen Mietwagen, um die schönen Strände zu erreichen. Fotini und Konstantin sind aufmerksame Gastgeber, die perfekt deutsch sprechen.
Anonymous

Wunderschön!

Reviewed: Oct 10, 2016, Source: HomeAway 

Am Abend auf der Terrasse sitzen, mit Blick auf die hinter den "Weißen Bergen" untergehende Sonne, Käse, Oliven und ein Glas Wein. Ein Gefühl von Glück und Dankbarkeit, hier sein zu dürfen, umfängt uns.
Das Ferienhaus der Familie Niti-Skalidis bietet uns alles und mehr, was wir zum Wohlfühlen brauchen. Es ist gekonnt restauriert und erweitert worden. Spuren der Geschichte wie aufgearbeitete Möbelstücke, alte Fotos und Werkzeug sind immer wieder zu finden und verbinden sich harmonisch mit modernen Elementen. Zimmer und Küche sind groß und gut ausgestattet; mit 4 Badezimmern gibt es keine Wartezeiten. Der gepflegte Garten mit Pool duftet nach Gewürzen und Blumen. Orangen-, Zitronen- und Granatapfelbäume, von denen wir so manche Frucht geschenkt bekamen, bieten Schatten und ergänzen die Farbpalette. Abends kann man sich von der kunstvoll gestalteten Beleuchtung (Fr. Nitit) bezaubern lassen.
Will man diese Idylle verlassen, um die nähere oder weitere Gegend zu erkunden, kann man auf die Empfehlungen der Vermieter zurückgreifen, die über fundierte Kenntnisse verfügen, was die Insel Kreta betrifft. Wanderungen, auch durch weniger bekannte Schluchten, schöne Badestrände und Buchten, pittoreske Orte, Ausgrabungen, Museen, Galerien, Geschäfte und gute Restaurants haben wir durch ihre Tipps genießen können.
Mein Mann und ich waren mit 2 befreundeten Paaren in Oikos 1900 zu Gast. Uns allen hat der Aufenthalt außerordentlich gut gefallen. Auch in anderen Konstellationen, z.B. eine Großfamilie o.ä., lässt sich hier wundervoll Urlaub machen.
Gabriele Gerhardts

Super relaxed stay in laid back property

Reviewed: Sep 26, 2016, Source: HomeAway & tripadvisor

 We have stayed in the house for the second time (never done before - identical holiday destinations) and it was well worth it. The hosts are warm and welcoming, the place is in perfect condition with all conceivable amenities. The pool is well looked after and separated from the house and terrace which is a strong plus with little children as you never have to worry who jumps in next by accident...
To us September is a great month to visit Crete, Gonia might not be the hottest spot on the island but if you're seeking quietness, the sea close by (approx. 8 km, easy if you have a car), a tavern you could dine every evening, and if not eating out, a property with large kitchen and space to easily take four parties (as equipped with four separate bathrooms) Oikos1900 is your place.
We might even come back a third time...
Stefan B.

wonderful cretan style villa with very warm hosts

Reviewed: Aug 31, 2016, Source: HomeAway 

Beautiful home - even better than the pictures on the website. Spacious, clean, well equipped. Very friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and generous hosts: knowledgeable suggestions, fresh local fruits and jams, and always available for help. Highly recommended!
Anonymous

 Excellent well-equiped villa with lots of charm.

Reviewed: Aug 30, 2016, Source: HomeAway & tripadvisor

We had a really lovely time at the villa. It is spacious, well-equipped and full of character. We had lots of fun in the pool, which is set in a beautiful garden, shaded by orange and pomegranate trees. The villa overlooks the village and the surrounding countryside, and is just a few minutes walk from the village square.
Konstantinos and Fotini were attentive hosts who welcomed us with some much-needed food, wine and raki on our arrival and cooked a delicious Cretan meal for us during our stay. They also gave us plenty of useful advice on places to visit.
Gonia is a pretty village with a friendly bar on the square, where we spent several evenings drinking the local wine. The food at the village Taverna was excellent, and there was also a pretty well-stocked shop in walking distance of the villa. There is also a fantastic butchers and bakers within a five minute drive, as well as several supermarkets within a 10 minute drive. Rethynmon was easy to get to, and the main town beach was really good, but the best beach was about 20 minutes the other way down the coast (Lappei beach). This beach had miles of sand, a fantastic bar/restaurant and great swimming conditions for the kids. Getting to the beaches on the other side of the island took about 45 minutes, and was worth it just for the drive which takes you through the most beautiful countryside.
stuart c.

Great place to gather for a celebration

Reviewed: Oct 23, 2015, Source: HomeAway  

We spent a wonderful week at the villa, which was even better in person than in the pictures. There were 7 of us in total, and there was plenty of room for all of us. We had lots of room and never did use the extra kitchen upstairs. We made great use of all the amenities, including the courtyard, upper deck with the great views of the valley, and the great pool. All mealtimes were spent outside in the warm sunny weather. Our host offered to cook a celebratory meal, and did a great job. He even presented the birthday girl with a present...a signed book that he wrote about Greece. We even had food in the fridge when we arrived, honey & homemade jams for the week, and fresh vegetables would appear on the table. The property has citrus trees and a pomegranate tree as well. The village where this is located is very handy to the main highway as well as the southern coast. We did day trips in our cars each day, and found it to be very central. The host was very accommodating, spoke great English (as well as other languages), arranged tours for us, and provided maid service half-way through our week-long stay. I would highly recommend this villa for anyone (including my friends and family) wanting an authentic Greek experience on Crete. I hope to return one day & stay here again.
Dierdre B.
Vancouver Canada

Wonderful days in autunm 

Reviewed: Oct 18, 2015, Source: HomeAway  & tripadvisor

After last year we spent again wonderful days in Gonia. The accommodation was very comfortable and cozy, the hosts as always very warmly. The right place for those who likes real cretan life. And if you want good tips for excursions, ask Mr Skalidis. He knows everything about he wonderful island because he is professionell Tour Guide.
Klaus Völkel, Witten, Germany

Great Place for a Family Get-together

Reviewed: Sep 20, 2015, Source: HomeAway

This villa was a fantastic venue for a 2 week family get-together for my wife and I from Edinburgh, and my two girls and their partners from London. We enjoyed great barbecues, cooked by the pool in the beautiful garden, and the youngsters practiced their yoga there.
The traditional house built in 1900 from stone and wood, provided a huge amount of space for 6 of us. All bedrooms were well air-conditioned and had en suite shower facilities. I particularly enjoyed watching the sun go down from the veranda over the beautifully silhouetted Cretan mountains to the west.
Our hosts Konstantinos and Fontini were very welcoming. There was food waiting for us when we arrived late and they waited up to welcome my girls’ party that did not arrive until 2 am due to a delayed flight. The house was cleaned and our bed linen and towels replaced every three days. When we left we were given gifts including Konstantinos' book about ancient Cretan culture. We were very well looked after. I would thoroughly recommend this Villa and these hosts.
Anthony B.

Fabulous Villa and location Highly recommend it!

Reviewed: Sep 1, 2015, Source: HomeAway

Oikos 1900 was even better than the description. We were welcomed by Konstantinos and Fortini with homemade delicious Cretan produce, we recommend their homemade food one evening as it was truly delicious!. The villa was clean, well maintained, fully equipped and spacious, easily accommodating 9 of us in two families. The pool and gardens were beautiful and we really didn't need to go anywhere other than down to the local shop or Taverna! We did do the Samaria Gorge trip, make sure you take plenty of food to last the 5-6 hour walk down to the beach on the South Coast and water bottles which you can fill en route with fresh spring water. It was busy but beautiful. We also had a fun day at the Water Park near Chania and visited the old town which has lovely Venetian character overlooking the harbour. We would highly recommend a visit!
Sarah Park, United Kingdom

Just Beautiful...

Reviewed 1 September 2015, Source: tripadvisor

I can honestly say that I did not want to leave - I had a tear in my eye as Konstantinos and his wife Fotini waved us off. We had an amazing 12 days in this villa - two families - 4 adults and youngsters ranging from 18 to 11.
We were greeted (at close to midnight) on our arrival by our hosts who were thoughtful enough to provide us with a very much appreciated light meal (and local wine). The villa suited us perfectly, it has been beautifully modernised whilst retaining a lot of character. The pool and gardens are immaculately kept by our hosts and are lit up at night with gourds decorated with coloured glass - just magical!
There is a gas barbeque in the courtyard and a larger coal barbeque in the garden area - the kitchen is also well stocked with plenty of crockery.
Our hosts were often on hand to answer any questions or give advice about local beaches and culture and also provided us with tomatoes and cucumbers from their garden which were perfect in a Greek salad.
There is a local café (good Greek coffee) and taverna within walking distance and a village shop which was able to provide most things to get you through (and also supplied bread better than most of the local bakers!)
I cannot recommend this villa and it's hosts highly enough.
Vicky S

Fabulous - friendly and relaxing

Reviewed: Aug 31, 2015, Source: HomeAway

Beautiful property, rural location, lots of space for a party of 9, delightful pool and the friendliest and warmest of Greek hosts. We had a wonderful week, including a fabulous evening meal prepared by Mr and Mrs Skalidis. Local store and restaurant in easy walking distance. Car needed for longer trips to beaches and mountains, but well worth it.
We did the challenging but stunning walk through the Samaria Gorge ( via a mozaic of modes of transport - car, bus and boat to do the one-way, 5hr walk) but absolutely well worth the effort and early start. Konstantinos was very helpful with suggestions and advice but always discretely aware of privacy and family time.
Thoroughly recommended.
Mike P.

Perfect for a relaxing holiday

Reviewed: 26 Aug 26, 2015, Source: tripadvisor

This house is full of charm and character, having been beautifully restored. It exceeded all our expectations, being spacious, clean and well equipped with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We especially enjoyed relaxing in the shade of the citrus trees in the garden before cooling off in the pool and we also made good use of the barbecue.
The house is in a quiet village location with lovely views from the terrace over the surrounding countryside, with the benefits of a local shop, cafe and taverna within walking distance. A car is essential, but it is an easy drive to more grocery shops as well as Rethymno and the north coast beaches. The south coast is about an hour away, with stunning scenery and quiet, pretty beaches.
Our lovely hosts gave us a warm welcome, greeting us on our late night arrival with Cretan food and drink, including fresh produce from their garden. Throughout our stay they were available to answer questions and give advice, without being intrusive. They went to a great deal of trouble to ensure that we had an enjoyable and memorable holiday.
Overall, we couldn't have asked for more.
Sue S

heerlijk huis

Reviewed: Aug 23 2015, Source: tripadvisor

We hebben een heerlijk verblijf gehad in het huis van de familie Skalidis. Een oud huis dat met behoud van alle karakter is gerenoveerd en zo een state-of-the art vakantieverblijf is, waarbij de hand van de eigenaars tot in alle details zichtbaar is. Prima keuken, mooi terras en balkon en een verfrissend zwembad onder de citrusbomen. Het dorpje Gonia is authentiek en rustig, cafeetje op het plein, Kretenzer taverne en een minimarkt, slechts enkele kilometers van Rethimnon maar in een mooi landschap. Een prima uitvalsbasis voor het ontdekken van westelijk Kreta.
De familie Skalidis is enorm gastvrij, af en toe vind je zomaar een zak tomaten, augurken of courgettes op de trap, vers uit hun overvloedige tuin. En anders hebben ze nog wel verhalen en tips over de regio.
jacques h

Beatifull villa

Reviewed: Aug 7 2015, Source: tripadvisor

Wonderful villa. Very friendly and helpfull hosts. He gave us many ideas what
to see. Beatiful surroundings. Recommendable.
Jakub K

relaxed vacation - beautifully taken care of

Reviewed: May 25, 2015, Source: HomeAway

As a party of ten, 6 kids(age 3 to 10) and 4 adults we had very relaxed vacation at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Skalidis, who welcomed us with a typical kretan meal. They were allways trying to find out, what we could possibly need and trying to take care of that. Enough space in the cosy home with a fantastic view, good possibility to shop for groceries nearby and to visit some sights, although without a car that would have been difficult... Overall we enjoyed it very much and will surely return sometime.
Anonymous

Ruhig, relaxed, vollausgetattet - perfekt!

Reviewed: Oct 26, 2014, Source: HomeAway

Wir haben insgesamt vier Wochen im Haus der Familie Skalidis verbracht, zwischenzeitlich zu sechst plus Baby Das Haus ist vollständig und liebevoll saniert, dementsprechend in hervorragendem Zustand. Das gilt für jedes der Zimmer, Bäder und den Pool. Da wir mit einem kleinen Baby unterwegs waren, war das unbedingte Voraussetzung.
Der sehr nette Kontakt im Vorfeld hat bereits ein gutes Gefühl vermittelt, vor Ort wurde jede Frage sofort beantwortet - sowohl über praktische Dinge als auch reiseplanerische (Busfahrten, Tipps zu Wanderungen, Highlights in der Stadt usw.) Ganz zu schweigen von der freundlichen Begrüßung und der selbstgemachten Marmelade...
Das Haus liegt wenige Kilometer von Rethymno entfernt, gerade genug, um keinen Massentrubel zu erleben, dem man aus dem Weg gehen will und nah genug, um schnell mal etwas zu besorgen (ca. 10min mit dem Auto). Das geht aber ganz prima auch in Gonia selbst. Eine zu Fuß erreichbare Taverne im Ort lässt keine Wünsche offen, weder geschmacklich noch preislich. Wäre die Küche im Haus nicht so groß und gut ausgestattet, in der Taverne könnte man jeden Abend essen gehen.
Das Haus kann 100prozentig empfohlen werden. Ein eigenes Auto ist hilfreich. Parken am Haus kein Problem.
Wir kommen wieder.
Stefan B.

Maison de vacances

Reviewed: Oct 15, 2014, Source: tripadvisor

Très bon séjour passé en groupe avec des amis et enfants.
La maison est magnifique et la déco très soignée.
La piscine est séparée dans une zone grillagée ce qui est sécurisant pour les enfants.
Nous avons fait un barbecue un soir et aussi nos hôtes ont cuisiné pour nous un repas délicieux et très économique.
Maxime C

Ideal holiday villa for a family

Reviewed: Aug 4, 2014, Source: tripadvisor

The property has absolutely everything we needed as an extended family of 8 staying on Crete. All modern conveniences and yet the historical character of the building shows through and makes for a much more interesting visit. The pool area is surrounded by citrus trees bringing welcome shade. The village of Gonia is rural and quiet, just how we hoped it would be. It has a well stocked village shop and an excellent taverna, both within easy walking distance of the house. We enjoyed excellent beaches nearby on both the north and south coasts.
TonyMannTrip

BEAUTIFUL house and very nice host

Reviewed: Aug 17, 2014

The house is b-e-a-u-t-i-f-u-l !!!
Kostantinos and his wife are very nice, and can cook for you if you ask.
Gonia is perfect to visit the Rethimno aera.
We recommend.
Romain Chauvet

a real place to relax

Reviewed: Jun 29, 2014, Source: tripadvisor

The apartment is placed only 6 kilometers from the beach in the North, in a small village named Gonia. You can enjoy real greek life. The next bigger town Rethymnon, it is about 8 kilometers away with a pretty old area. The apartment is renovated in greek style, beautiful and very comfortable. We felt very relaxed and enjoyed the view from the terrace over the beautiful landscape. Our host family was very open minded and gave us many tipps for our excursions. It is a very good place, where you can come to rest and forgot your daily routine.
Klaus V.

Genuine village setting

Reviewed: Jun 14, 2014

Beautifully restored farm house with lots of room for up to 10 people. The veranda is perfect for tranquile breakfast and evening meals. During the mid day when it is too hot outside you can enjoy yours meals in the dining room that stays reasonably cool. Nice pool area across the street (no traffic). The house is located in the upper part of a truly genuine cretian village with winding narrov streets invinting you to explore the surroundings on foot. Sheep and goats grase the surroundings and local dogs greet you whereever you go.
You find a large grocery store in Rethymnon (15 min by car) and a convenience store is also availble in Gonia for that missing milk jug or small additions. There is a genuine and very reasonably priced restaurant in the village 5 min´s walk from the house that we can recommend. The hosts who also stay on the premicis in a separat building (but keeping low profile) can help you with any questions or problems you might have. If you are looking for a peaceful time, relaxing in the sun and enjoying a truly cretian experience - this is the place to go.
Oskar

Beatifully renovated cretan house

Reviewed: May 5, 2014  Sourse: tripadvisor

We didn't quite expect it to offer so many amenities and were surpised by how well they have been integrated in such an old house. The decoration of the interior is reminiscent of Crete . We also made use of the pool in the garden, which is really nice.
Giovanni D.

Magnificent property full of atmosphere

Reviewed: Aug 26, 2013  Sourse: HomeAway

We're coming to the end of our stay in this delightful traditional house conversion, and only have favourable impressions. It is actually even better than the website description, and is kept in immaculate condition by its careful and considerate owner. Everything has been well arranged and lives up to and beyond expectations. Last night Kostas cooked a magnificent meal for us (no meat, as my wife is vegetarian), showing us the secrets for those special Cretan flavours! We have spent most of our days touring the middle section of the island, swimming and hiking - yesterday we descended the wonderful Aradaina gorge. Crete is a world of its own, with so much to do. Even the nearby town of Rethymno is a delightful place to spend a day exploring. Kostas is a veritable treasure house of knowledge on Cretan and Greek history, so we benefitted greatly from chatting with him over wine and olives. We very much hope to come back soon.
Jhon. D.

Sehr schön und ruhig

Reviewed: Aug 18, 2013  Sourse: HomeAway

Das Haus der Familie Skalidis hat uns sehr gut gefallen. Schon die liebevolle Gestaltung der Räume ist aussergewöhnlich! Dazu die Lage etwas abseits des touristischen Geschehens und trotzdem so, dass man problemlos sowohl das Meer im Norden wie im Süden in kurzer Zeit erreichen kann...! Dazu ist der freundliche Empfang durch die hervorragend deutsch sprechenden Gastgeber zu erwähnen. Alles in allem ein gelungener Aufenthalt, unbedingt zu wiederholen!
P. Weyden

extraordinary! 

Reviewed: Jul 17, 2013  Sourse: HomeAway

fantastic house, you feel the heritage, superb refurnishment, best location for either north or south coast beaches, an absolutely nice owner with best tips for the stay ! Speaking different languages fluently! Go for it...
Mr Toedtmann

wunderbare ferien

Reviewed: Jul 16, 2013  Sourse: HomeAway

Es waren wunderbare Ferien. Das Haus hat uns sehr gut gefallen: wunderbar restauriert und mit viel Charme!!! Wir freuen uns schon auf das nächste Mal!! Die Besitzer sind sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit und geben gute Tipps für einen gelungenen Urlaub. Rundum perfekt!!! Sehr schöne, ruhige Lage, wunderbarer Blick und im Dorf gibt es einige Tavernen, in denen man gut essen kann. Das Meer ist in der Nähe und im Haus ist der Rummel aber weit weg und alles ist ruhig! Wir hatten einen wunderbaren Urlaub!
S. Schepansky